Instructor Highlight! Meet Ashley Waterson…

Posted on Tuesday, January 31, 2017

 

Q. Tell us a brief summary of yourself.

A. I grew up in Fort Wayne, IN and graduated college from Huntington University. After college I moved and spent a year teaching and doing mission work in the Dominican Republic. I now live in Roanoke, IN with my husband, Justin. We have an energetic three year old son named Brecken, and a spunky one year old daughter named Caliana. Currently, I work at Covington Elementary School in SACS as a P.E. teacher. I also work part time at the Powers of One as a personal trainer and group fitness instructor. 

 

Q. What is it that drew you to the health industry?

A. In college I started attending group fitness classes and loved it. It was a great workout, a wonderful outlet for stress, a place I felt challenged, and a community where I developed many great friendships.

I am so grateful for those who encouraged me in my fitness journey and I want to encourage others to be healthy, to feel challenged, beautiful and strong.

 

Q. Do you find it difficult to balance a healthy life in a modern world? How do you commit to your personal well-being?

A. I think it's challenging to find time time to exercise, especially with kids. I have found the best way to fit my workout in is to get it done early in the morning before my kids wake up. I'm not always successful at going to bed early or getting up when the first alarm goes off, but I'm learning to find balance. If I miss a day or two I try not to get discouraged and get back at it the next day. Another way I incorporate fitness into my life is to get the whole family involved! In the warmer months some of our favorite family activities are going on family runs and bike rides (jogging strollers rock)! I also utilize nap time whenever I can. On the weekends whent he kids are napping, my husband and I will put together a HIIT workout to do out in the garage or driveway.

 

Q. What other interests or hobbies do you have?

A. I love to travel and experience new places. I also enjoy being outside, reading, going for long runs, afternoons spent at the pool, bike rides to Moose and Mollies, and trips to the park. In the summer I enjoy spending time at the lake and boating with family and friends. Most of all I love spending time with my family and making memories together.

Posted in